Pai Mu Dan (Bai Mu Dan) White Tea

I like to introduce Pai Mu Dan brewing formula today because it is one of the hardest tea to measure precisely by words. Usually we tell people x teaspoon of tea per pot. High quality Pai Mu Dan leaves are large, a tablespoon can differ from 1g to 2 g (that’s 100%). If you do not have an accurate scale, the photo gives you an idea what 2g looks like. My tea is measured with tea in whole leaf form without tea dust. If your tea is crashed into small dusts, then it’s best if you can measure it with a scale. I like to use about 2g for a cup. The cup I use is a standard size mug which is approx 250ml. If you want to brew in a pot using my formula. first measure how many cups of tea your pot can serve, then multiply the tea amount. You can certainly increase or decrease the tea volume to suit.

All white teas should be made in 75- 80 Degrees Celsius water. Boiled water can kill the nutrients. The nutrients and anti-oxidants are the reason most people choose to have white tea. If you do not have a thermometer, simply add 1/5 cold water before boiled water to bring the temperature down.

I prefer a consistent cuppa. If I have time, I always use my scale, thermometer and measuring cup. I like to use a timer too. For Pai Mu Dan, I brew 8-10min for my first brew.

If I am going to take my time to enjoy my first cup of tea, I like to pour it into a different cup. This way my tea leaves are not soaked in water constantly brewing. I can save it for my 2nd and 3rd brew. Yes! only 2g, makes 3 cups. That’s about all the white tea you need for a day.

Because white tea takes longer to brew, I may use a lid or cup to cover up the tea while it’s brewing to make sure I have a hot cup of tea. You can certainly use a pot with a lid to do the same thing. However, Pai Mu Dan is excellent when cold or iced!

2nd brew is 15-20min. the colour should be the same as the 1st brew and the strength should be similar.

I will pour the tea out into my cup for the 3rd brew. I will brew for much longer for my 3rd; 20-30min. The 3rd brew wont be a hot cup of tea but I away enjoy it as it’s still very nice. It will be weaker than 1st and 2nd.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. fausto goi
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 00:36:48

    Hello,
    i read with great interest, I have a question, I hope you could help me.
    I bought since several years the Pai Mu Dan tea from Taylors of Harrogate, Harrogate, North Yorkshire, unfortunately this year the tea is not in the basket.
    I asked the reason, but I haven’t got a reply…..Pity because I found this brand ..superb !
    So, please could you suggest another excellent brand where I can buy Pa Mu Dan ?
    I leave in Italy
    Thanks a lot for your kind reply
    Best regards
    Fausto Goi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

